top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyann Runion

What I do at Solid Rock


Let’s talk a bit about what it is that I do here at Solid Rock Bible Camp, and what I have done previously. My first summer at Solid Rock was the summer of 2013. I had just finished my junior year at Grace College and was looking at Solid Rock as somewhere that I wanted to pursue a long-term employment. So I committed to coming up for the entire summer. That summer I served as a counselor at Wagon Train. For those of you who don’t know, Wagon Train is the part of Solid Rock that provides their campers with certified horse lessons. Not only that, but they sleep in wagons and there is no plumbing. Showers were a coveted thing that summer. Besides no running water, I loved working over at Wagon Train and having the smaller cabin groups that allowed more time to get to know the campers.

My second summer was in 2015, and that summer I served as the Work Crew Chief for the girls. The Work Crew program allows junior high kids to work for a few weeks to earn a week of camp. They work through some minor cleaning and washing dishes, and the rest of the time is spent playing games, having fun, and getting to know each other. It was a great opportunity to get to know the girls over an extended time, and share into their lives. Several of the work crew continue on to be LTs. It was after this summer that I decided to move up here. This was the place where I wanted to serve the Lord on a daily basis. After moving up here, I took on the role of Program Director of Lakeside alongside another director. The summer that followed soon became one of my most challenging and growing summers yet. I learned a lot and find that I am probably better for it. No one ever said ministry was easy. However, without that summer, I wouldn’t be where I am now.

Which brings me to what my role is now. This summer I will be working directly with our high school summer staff. I have the awesome opportunity to work through a Bible study through James with them. Some of the things that I want to bring to the table for them is helping them in gaining leadership skills. That’s why they’re here; to learn to be better leaders (whether they know that or not, they will soon) and share the Word of God with campers through that. We have the awesome opportunity to share about God here at camp, and I don’t want to see those opportunities wasted. This is why I can’t wait to invest in the ones that work directly with the campers. I also serve as the Waterfront Director, and I’m still getting used to that role. And if that wasn’t enough, my side responsibility is the snack shop at Lakeside. I have my hand full of new responsibilities and exciting moves in my career.


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page