top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyann Runion

Because I have to talk about Algy...


As a lighthearted introduction to me, I thought I'd take some time to talk about my pet. As many of you know, over a year ago I adopted my kitty, Algy (Algernon is his full name, and sometimes when he really frustrates me, it's abbreviated to Alg). Some have described him as a dapper gentleman or even a majestic rascal. Both of these are true, don't get me wrong. However, let's look more closely at that "rascal" attribute. Okay, he's just a downright jerk sometimes. There are mornings when I wake up to him patting my face or meowing unnaturally loud in my ear. One would think that maybe it's because his food dish is empty or that he wants attention. I am convinced, at least in my sleep-addled pre-coffee brain that he just hates me. Then he proves me wrong at other times when he snuggles up on my lap or beside me. Or when he gets super excited that I'm home, jumps up on my bed and stands on hind legs to put paws on my shoulder. At least I interpret this as love. One awesome thing about him is his love of playing fetch. It sometimes depends on the day and even the toy as to whether he brings it back, but for the most part he does. What else? Oh, he loves chin scratches and is a total food snob. His favorite food (like I worry that he doesn't take time to breath while devouring it) is Blue Buffalo fish pate. For him, nothing compares. The only human food that he seems to like is bacon, which I totally understand. Excellent choice, buddy. He's even been known to steal it off of people's plates. He's not the most graceful, and sometimes overestimates or underestimates distances. Usually it's not too much of a problem, but he has definitely vaulted over my bookshelf, overestimated, and fallen off the other side. His favorite toys are Star Wars themed, which I fully support. Other than that, he likes glaring and as you can see in this adorable picture, gazing outside (don't misunderstand the gazing outside for wanting to go outside, because almost every time I take him outside, he freezes and meows loudly like I've betrayed him). Needless to say, but I love him and think he's pretty legit.


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page