top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyann Runion

Life at the moment

Hi friends and family!


What an uncertain time that we live in at the moment, but we can rest in the assurance that God is still God and He is in control. There are a lot of unknowns on how this will proceed, and how this will effect the health of the people and the economy. I’m taking it a day at a time, trying to help out where I can and keeping an eye on the news that’s changing hour by hour. Throughout it all, I am encouraged to see people stepping up to help their neighbors and church bodies working to strengthen their bonds even through social-distancing, and even look beyond the physical gathering of the church body to know what the church truly is.


Please continue to keep camp in your prayers as we navigate what this will look like in the coming months. Also be praying for the McKenney family and the decisions ahead of them. I also ask for prayer for Peninsula Grace Church as we navigate how to keep people connected through this time, and support one another as needs arise.


For the moment, so long as there’s community (even if from a distance), coffee, and yarn, I can continue to take it day by day. But everyone’s talking about covid-19, and I’m done talking about it here, so let’s move on and talk of other things. (Heads-up, I’m going to spend a bit of time talking about knitting and yarn)


I restarted a massive sweater this week. For all my knitting friends, it’s the Stephen West Marled Magic Sweater, and some of you know I started it a couple years ago in crazy greens, blues and purples. Don’t get me wrong, love it, but as a monstrosity of a sweater, maybe a bit much. So I’m at the point where I can just change directions and make the shawl option with what I’ve already done instead. I just needed something that was fun, changed up a lot in color and design, and was on relatively large needles. Also something that was soothing to knit and had enough design to stay interesting without taking too much thought. So I cast on the Marled Magic Sweater again in maroons, charcoals, pinks, and golds, and am already so excited with how it’s knitting up and the mood of the colors.


I also started a gnome knit-along (a gnome-along), but have yet to even finish the hat. Motivation is not my strength at the moment, haha. But I must admit, knitting gnomes is super fun, especially when you have no idea what the end result will be. I also have the Tecumseh sweater by Caitlin Hunter on the needles, and really if I dedicated just a little more time to it, it’d be done in no time. However, that would be too easy, and then I couldn’t flit from project to project. Other than that, I just have a ridiculously long list of things I want to start and yarn that I want to use. Decided back in December that I would take some time off of buying yarn so that I can enjoy what I have already accumulated. I did break that when one of my favorite dyers announced that she was closing up shop, but have been keeping to the yarn fast pretty well…so far.


What else?


My puppy should be born within the next couple weeks! So that’s exciting for me! Something to look forward to! A little backstory: I was previously on a wait list for a corgi for two years, and then found out like a month or so ago that they were no longer having puppies. So I had to look elsewhere. I’ve been wanting a corgi for ages, have done crazy amounts of research on their breed, the pros and cons, and searched for a good breeder with a fair price tag. Once I found one, I put down a deposit, made my corgi savings jar, and began saving for what will be a 12-15 year commitment. I’ve already started my puppy binder and Pinterest board to help organize my thoughts on training and bringing up a puppy, since it’s a lot. I’m excited to have a companion that I can take walks with and that will force me to get out more (love my cat, but he’s not excited to see me when I get home, and hates being outside…great for occasional cuddling and keeping shrews away!). Plus, corgis are ridiculously cute, and are the perfect size: big dog personality on short legs. And the derp factor is strong in them! So, yeah, I’m ridiculously excited to get my puppy finally!


Other than that, life is as normal as normal can be right now.


Let me know what’s going on in your life! Knitters, what are you knitting? What are some recent yarn acquisitions? Who else is a curator for their own collection of yarn?


Pray for each other, support one another, let’s get through this! Spread kindness, not the virus! We're in this together.....just six feet or more apart! Support local businesses! Stop hoarding toilet paper ;)

Here's a corgi I knit the other week because I was bored. The pattern was from Knit Your Own Royal Wedding, and the pattern is also available free online!

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page